Meet the Chorus

Video by CLT Production

“Music expresses that which cannot be said and on which it is impossible to be silent.” // Victor Hugo

Meet Our Director - Charles Morrow

We are pleased to name Charles Morrow as the first Musical Director of the Community Singers of Lake Norman. Charles Morrow is excited about hitting the ground running with these singers!  Charles is all too familiar with the Lake Norman area.  He was raised here and continues to provide musical leadership to this area.


Charles is a graduate of the Lenoir Rhyne University.  There, he obtained his degrees in Sacred Choral Music and in Vocal Performance.  While there, he became quite involved in the music program, and was named the assistant to the conductor of the LR ACappella Choir.  During their 2003 tour of Europe, Charles received the Helen Stahler Award for Musical Excellence.  After his graduation, Charles began working with various music directors and vocal coaches.  Some of these names include; Dr. Paul D. Weber, Dr. Anton Armstrong, Dr. Andre Thomas and Dr. Craig Dennison.  


Charles has taught in several area schools and has been on staff at various churches as their music director. 

Meet Our Accompanist -
Marla Young

Marla Young is a graduate of Piedmont Bible College with a BS in Music Education.  She is a chorus teacher for Cabarrus County Schools and the Music Director/Pianist at Broad Street United Methodist Church in Mooresville.  She has taught piano for years and maintains a private studio. 


She is an active accompanist in Cabarrus County, providing music for local school concerts and the high school All County Concert. She has served as orchestra pianist for local productions of “Oliver” and “Annie Get Your Gun”.


We are excited to welcome Marla to the Community Singers of Lake Norman and encourage you to come hear our talented accompanist!

Board of Directors and Officers
Notice to the Membership - November 2020

The Annual Meeting was held on November 9, 2020, via Zoom.  A quorum was met and Directors were elected. Linda Martinson renewed her two-year pledge, and Marie Heiss was elected as a new Director.  Gerry Osborne will complete the remaining year of John Harris’ term. Betsy Fox and Kitty Soesbee each have one remaining year of service.


At the first scheduled Board of Directors’ meeting, November 12, officer positions were appointed:  President Marie Heiss, Vice President Linda Martinson, Treasurer Gerry Osborne, Secretary Betsy Fox, and Director Kitty Soesbee.


Greetings from the Board


Dear Chorus Family,


It is with great pleasure and excitement that your BOD greets you with the warmest wishes for a happy, healthy and merry holiday season.  We are digging in deep, forging ahead to meet the demands for 2021. Hopefully, we will be able to look back on 2020 with more laughter than tears. 


Personally, I sincerely thank my fellow Directors for the warm and supportive welcome they have given me and for their vote of confidence.  I look forward to collaboratively working with each of them and with Director Charles Morrow.  My heartfelt thanks go out to Linda Martinson for her dedication and a job well done as president for 2019-2020. 


A special thanks goes out to Charles for keeping us all engaged and singing virtually. Voice lessons and tutorials via Vimeo, chorus website and Dropbox are worth every cent of my registration dues.   It is challenging, but we can do this, right?


Until we are all once again together, in person, keep singing and keep Zooming.


Warmest Salutations,

Marie Heiss


President - Marie Heiss

Vice-President - Linda Martinson

Treasurer - Gerry Osborne

Secretary - Betsy Fox

Director-at-Large - Kitty Soesbee